The Pearl Street Weekend

Posted on

Butternut Risotto…so good and RMK made it for me on his weekend off. So sweet.

It’s about 6 months into residency (can you believe the 1st year is 1/2 over!!), but December 10th marks the FIRST weekend my husband and I have had together.  FIRST, I kid you not.  I am talking about a Friday night and Saturday day, together, no worries, lounging around the house.

Let me tell you what my husband decides to do: put in a door.  Not just any door, the door from hell.  I wake up to the F*@$ word as it’s being installed.  Take a look at the pic below and tell me what you notice…

He only made this face after the cussing stopped

That’s right.  That spot above his upper lip is the bloody scar left over from wait…hold for it…yup, a HAMMER.  TO THE FACE.  He is yelling at me to hold door because as he’s hammering it in, the door is becoming more and more skewed.  So he nails it in as I give sarcastic yet logical advice, such as maybe you should use a shim to hold you spot…maybe you should hammer on the thicker sections of the door.  So he gleams at me and then decides to take the half-way in nail out with the hammer…and it wouldn’t budge.  I mean brute force, pulling, with his leg on the rim of the door, gruntng.  So RMK gets pissed and takes a crow bar and hammers it from the side to cut it out.  And then more brute force, only to slip the hammer of while using his maximum tricep leverage.

Only to hit himself in the face.  He just stood there in shock for several seconds, and then started spitting out blood and cussing some more.  We had a few neighbors walking by just staring at us.  They probably thought I punched him in the face.  I was worried he lost a tooth, he was freaking pissed at the door, and our dogs were going wild.  All in all, a great start to the weekend.

Purple Potato Madness! They cook quickly, creamy in flavor, and perfectly soft.

Anyways, we eventually made it to the farmer market on Pearl St and stopped at Gaia for brunch.  SO AMAZING.  It’s tiny and the wait is tremendous, but so worth it.  RMK says their French styled coffee is just to die for, and it has such an amazing quaint feels.  Plus free pumpkin bread 🙂

I love farmer markets even better when butternut squash and purple potatoes are in season!  I roasted them with a little salt, pepper, and olive oil and voila, gourmet dinner!  I also got almost 5 lbs of carrots for $2.  We’ll be turning orange soon.

So easy…roasted purple potatoes and carrots

About aggiemed2007

I am the "normal" Type A medical student, about to see the light at the end of the tunnel but unsure if this is really a good light. I started this blog because I love fashion, cooking, and all things NOT medicine. I have a wonderful, gorgeous man in my life and the best family and friends a girl could ask for. So why not write about it...

Leave a comment